Who I am and why I’m here – Blogging101

I am a woman, a wife, a mother, a sister, a friend, a daughter. I have been in this world for three decades. I have worked in airlines and in shipping as an accountant and a documentation clerk. But I learned quickly that I enjoy creating more. I like to do and to make many different things starting with creating music, drawing, designing, photography ending with sewing, knitting, leather craft and writing. Creating is a language for me through which I express myself. And it seems that I like to speak more than one language depending on the season in my life. Currently I’m at home with my youngest daughter (1y 8m) which is why I feel a little isolated from the rest of the world. I also lack time for myself and for creating something in peace (as you may imagine a mom’s everyday life :)

But really, does it say who I am? Or, have I had a chance yet to see who I am or who I could be?
I am still that 6 year old girl who is looking at an ant nest and wondering if there is somebody or something so big that is looking at me the way I am looking at these ants. I am still a 26 year old single mother who decides to go on a half year long journey to the other side of the planet together with her 5 year old daughter – to learn about life, and herself. I am somebody who gets inspired by colours, nature, music, people and their stories, big goals, challenges, the stars and the unknown. I am somebody who believes in the power of dreaming with the right feeling. You know – imagine your future spouse, what qualities you want him (or her) to have; and even the details e.g. what is the colour of his eyes etc. Write it on a yellow post-it and stick it on a mirror that you see often. And two weeks later you meet your future spouse and the father of your children. My true story. Naive? Silly? Yes, I am all that, too. And it works fine for me. I jump with joy. And appreciate the gracefulness and flexibility inside, by dancing outside.

Sometimes I lose focus or dive into something so much that my surrounding becomes a little foggy. Sometimes I can self-destructively think too much about details. I am broken at times. I have fears that make my tummy stiff, or make me turn around right behind a door and go back home. Sometimes I go to my comfortable corner and cry all the tension out. And that’s alright. Because I am the life with duality – all the way from fear to love.

And this is why I am here – to wonder together about mad and wonderful things about people and life. Give and get feedback, inspiration, encouragement through writing; about writing. What we all have in common is some sort of a struggle – and that’s something mandatory for a great story and inspiration to share.

Blogging101 – Introduce Yourself 

Published by

Mari-Liis Link

I am. I get inspired by early mornings, high mountains, challenges, the Sun and the Moon. I'm a passionate traveller inside and outside. And I love colours, I love to create. I'm a wife of a wonderful husband and of two beautiful daughters.

8 thoughts on “Who I am and why I’m here – Blogging101”

  1. I can relate to the “losing yourself” thing. I often become so involved with what I’m doing that I can block out everything going on around me.

    1. Thank you for stopping by. I’m very slow (at least regarding blogging). Being involved is great unless it is destructive; hurting yourself or others around you. I sometimes get lost in thoughts that definitely don’t bring any peace. Silly, but difficult to control :)

  2. “Sometimes I can self-destructively think too much about details. I am broken at times.” — I am right there with you! I definitely enjoyed reading your intro and will come back from time to time to catch up with you :) I look forward to your future entries!

    1. Thank you for stopping by on my slow-moving-blog and finding time to comment on this post. I’m glad to hear we are not alone. What we all want is just to be happy. That’s all. Very simple. :)

  3. Wow, I love this post. What an inspiration. I can relate to so many of those things and I think it’s awesome that you’ve fearless attacked your curiosity about the world. I also have a list of qualities in a husband that I’ve had since I was about 14. I’m now 19 and still have yet to meet him but I’m believing! I’m really looking forward to more of your posts. Glad I stumbled upon your blog :)

  4. This is simply divinely remarkable writing. You have a great way with words, and your sentences flow. I have a traveler’s heart, too. But when I see people traveling with young children, I pause to wonder just how they do that. I’d like to hear about some of those experiences. Also, like your theme. How did you find my blog?

    1. Thank you so much! It’s a very inspiring comment. I’m extremely slow with this blog, but I’ll write when “the channel” opens and I don’t happen to be busy with mother-duties.
      I found your writings through the Commons. It made me feel good when I saw the pictures of Bali – bare foot, flip flops, the nature. It reminded me of my long travels in SE Asia.

Leave a Reply

